Getting arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) doesn’t happen on a whim. An officer must have a reasonable cause to pull you over – perhaps you had missed several traffic signs or exhibited erratic driving behavior. The officer must also have probable cause to book you for DUI, either because your roadside tests highly suggest you’re intoxicated, or a breath test reveals your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is at least .08%.
But once an officer arrests you for DUI, they will immediately confiscate your license. From that point, Maryland’s Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) will suspend your license, and the officer will issue you a temporary paper license, which is only valid for 45 days.
You might think that even if police confiscate your license, you can instantly get back to driving thanks to the temporary paper license. However, you shouldn’t try anything reckless and instead consider heading home with the help of a friend or loved one. You can face additional penalties if another officer catches you driving immediately after your arrest.
Penalties for driving immediately after arrest
Under Maryland law, drivers are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle within 12 hours of their arrest for DUI. Those who violate this law face penalties separate from the punishments of a DUI conviction.
If you’re convicted of driving after a DUI arrest, a court could order you to pay a maximum fine of $500 and serve up to two months in jail.
A DUI charge puts your license under suspension and restricts your driving privileges immediately following your arrest. Remember that you shouldn’t quickly get back behind the wheel following an arrest. Instead, you might want to spend time planning how to handle your DUI case and license suspension with the help of a legal professional.