According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, about a third of all drivers arrested for DUI are repeat offenders. Additionally, many drivers aren’t aware that the consequences of a DUI get more severe with each repeat offense. That means you could face steeper fines and even jail time for a second DUI.
What Are The Consequences?
In Maryland, anyone pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or above can be charged with a DUI, and anyone under age 21 can be charged with a DUI if they have any amount of alcohol in their blood.
These charges can have both criminal and administrative penalties, both of which increase with each additional charge. For people arrested in Maryland, that means up to a year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines for a first offense and getting your license revoked for six months. You can also be subject to installing an ignition interlock device in your vehicle that will prohibit driving if it detects alcohol. The consequences almost double with a second offense. Your second DUI comes with up to two years of jail time (and a minimum of five days in jail), up to $2,000 in fines and 12 months without your license.
These penalties are designed to discourage people from drinking while under the influence of alcohol and they can have a significant negative impact on your life. However, it is possible to fight the charges and avoid the mounting penalties of a DUI. Being aware of these consequences is important, as is being prepared to defend yourself against the charges.